Hagwon Hell

Ode to the unfortunate English Academy Teacher in Korea

REFRAIN:

Up in the morning and down the road
to Hagwon Hell you go
The hours are long and the students are jerks
My friend, this is going to blow

Your students are stressed; they go to school all day…
They always do homework…they have no time to play

But it’s not really their fault that they study too much…
Their parents are forcing them…to be doctors and lawyers and such

The Korean economy is tough, and these kids are out of luck…
Because if they don’t learn English…their futures are fucked…

And it doesn’t really matter what dreams they hold dear…
If they don’t study their asses off…they won’t have careers

REFRAIN

Up in the morning and down the road
to Hagwon Hell you go
The hours are long and the students are jerks
My friend, this is going to blow

These children have pressure, and they feel quite blue…
But when they vent their frustration…the target is YOU!!!

They shout and they whine, they insult and abuse…
And all they do is laugh at you…when you blow a fuse

The students are tired, and they don’t give a shit…
They hate learning English…and they think you’re a prick

You thought you’d love teaching, but after this year…
All you’re going to care about…are hookers and beer

REFRAIN

Up in the morning and down the road
to Hagwon Hell you go
The hours are long and the students are jerks
My friend, this is going to blow

10 Responses to “Hagwon Hell”

  1. lol.. there is a slight humor in the sad state of the students too..

    Vinay @ I Rhyme Without Reason

  2. nice to see different versions, well done.

  3. frustrations can manifest in many ways.. hope my potluck can take your mind off it haha- http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/nectar-from-heaven/

  4. Greetings!

    Thanks for the lovely contribution to potluck on week 25,

    week 26 is open NOW, we treasury your poetry

    And hope to see you in shortly…old poems are welcome!

    xoxox

  5. keep it up.

    Welcome joining poets rally week 40,
    all submissions will be fully represented by the end of the week,
    visit me for details today.. hope to see you in..

    Cheers.
    Happy Writing..
    xx

  6. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

  7. … and this is exactly why I gave up on my dream of being a teacher. The lack of respect is terrible nowadays; things have changed in such a short space of time. I used to be in awe of teachers.

    Love this. Love the dark humour and the tinge of sadness.

    • Thankyou for reading. Sorry for the late response as I haven’t been checking my blog lately, but I totally agree with you about the lack of respect that teachers receive. I had the same problem in Taiwan, and this is the main reason why I have decided to leave the field of education. Life is simply too short to have to deal with that kind of abuse

      Cheers,

      Wesley.

  8. Have worked for the same school district I graduated from, I’m amazed my own teachers didn’t murder some of the students, including myself. It has nothing to do with the ethnicity, it has to do with the age. LOL!!
    I remember coming home after a long day and telling my mother, that one of these days I was going to dismember some of my students. Oh man were they obnoxious, but eventually they grew up, unfortunately I didn’t. LOL!
    This was a bit sad, but also amusing. Been there, done that. Good read. May your day be wonderfully blessed!

    http://elizena-lovingmycreator.blogspot.com/2012/08/the-fairies-did-it.html

    • I’m glad you enjoyed this. I decided to include this poem in one of the articles that I submitted to pointsincase.com. I can totally empathize with you. I was an overseas teacher for about 5 years, and unfortunately, it’s pretty much a tough job no matter where you go. My experience as a student teacher was the worst. THose kids were terrible. Before I went overseas, I had heard that Asian students were more well-behaved. Well…that simply wasn’t true…ha ha ha.

      Thanks for reading,

      Wes

Leave a Reply

